M.S Dhoni: The Magic of Leadership – Cyrus Gonda(Book Review)

Welcome to February 2023, a month that is filled with optimism, hope, love and positivity. According to me, the best way to start February is by reading a book. Reading brings with it a must needed exercise for the brain, the ability to focus and increase in knowledge. These are just a few known facts about reading. We shall discuss the benefits of it in another blog.

Today’s blog is dedicated to a book I have been reading and re-reading for the last 4 months. A book, that provides so many life lessons with particular emphasis on the concept of leadership. Before I dive into it, let me share the reason it took me nearly 120 days to write a review on it. I received my copy on the 9th of September. Post which I must have read the book for the first time in over 10 days. I drafted the first copy of the book review instantly. I kept adding points to it without saving the same in a safe place. Boom, my laptop gives me trouble and all my efforts are down the drain. I was genuinely disappointed with myself. Considering this was such a basic thing to do, I did not pay attention to it. During this period, I also relocated from Mumbai to Chennai and the overall experience was extremely overwhelming. A new city, new people and old assignments. I felt lost.

It was then, that I started reading the book again. And surprisingly enough, I realised that somewhere the struggles we all go through make us what we are meant to be. It was M.S. Dhoni’s life story that motivated me to draft the book review again.

The book is systematically divided into 6 categories. It has a section each dedicated from the beginning and ending pages, to the remaining four sections, which are the four Vs that define Mahi’s leadership. The first aspect, i.e., the beginning pages has a leaf written beautifully by our very own and loved Mr Kapil Dev. Did you know, that in less than three years of his international debut for India, Dhoni was made captain of the Indian team for the inaugural Twenty-20 World Cup, and led the team to victory? Read this book, for more such fun facts.

The readers are then introduced to the 4V model of leadership. They stand for: Vision, Values, Valour and Victory. This forms the basis of four unique sections of the book. #CyrusGonda has seamlessly penned 55 noteworthy leadership lessons under these four sub-sections. Each chapter, under the sub-sections of Vision, Value, Valour and Victory starts with a leadership quote by a famous personality. The particular leadership trait is explained using examples from Captain Cool’s personal and professional life. This book is more of a self-development book. After each chapter, Mr Gonda has asked questions as well as provided enough space for the reader to answer. I also loved how Cyrus sir has not limited the examples and explanation of any concept restricted to just M.S. Dhoni. Though multiple instances revolve around this great captain, noteworthy mentions of other crickets and corporate personalities are well-imbibed in the book.

In my opinion, this book is a must-read book for every manager, who aspires to lead a team someday. It’s ideally said that an intelligent person may learn from his mistake, but a genius learns from the mistakes of others. One can’t copy and become a leader word-by-word like M.S. Dhoni, but one can surely know how to manage contingencies and lead their team to victory.

The concluding pages highlight the leadership learnings, in a nutshell, to be: Vision, Ambition, Observation, Communication, Action, Innovation, Reputation, Inspiration, Transition, Distinction and Compassion.

Towards the end, I urge all my readers, to pick this book up and soak up the leadership lessons. The book is prepared after extensive research, and it is seen in how methodically the chapters are composed. This book can change the way how one views leadership. Furthermore, I also recommend gifting this book to your managers, associates, business partners etc., as there is nothing more valuable than the joy of reading and spreading knowledge.

#librarywala #CyrusGonda #HitenTurakia https://librarywala.com/authors/1782178077-cyrus-m-gonda

@librarywala, @cyrusgonda, @hitenturakia

Author: Ishita Tanna Tavadia

Professor by Profession Writer/Blogger by Passion!!

Leave a comment